Home Reviews Delete Facebook Account – Facebook Deactivate Account | Delete Facebook

Delete Facebook Account – Facebook Deactivate Account | Delete Facebook

by cardshure

Are you tired of being on the Facebook platform and want to delete a Facebook account? or you desire to live a private life where nobody knows anything about you? If this and many other things are the reason you want to delete your account, I am here to give you a guide that will help you easily delete that account. I will be sharing this information and other things that you need to know before you click on that delete button.

Delete Facebook Account - Deactivate your Facebook Account | Delete your Facebook Account

 

Delete Facebook Account

Now Facebook offers you two ways in which you can use to get rid of your account. They are deactivation and deletion. You can deactivate your account if you want to be inactive for some time and then gain access to your account again after a while. If you delete your account, Facebook will give some time to go over your decision to permanently delete your account after which your account will be permanently deleted and you can no longer gain access to your account.

Here, let’s take you through each of these processes one after the other.

Before you delete your Facebook account, Facebook gives you the option of downloading your Facebook information. This information contains all your important Facebook data, like your albums, videos etc. This is to help you secure your information in case you need it for future purposes.

Here is how you can download your Facebook information:

Downloading Your Facebook Information

  • Navigate to the Facebook website on Facebook.com
  • Sign into your account
  • On your homepage, scroll to and tap on the arrow icon at the top of the homepage.
  • Hit on the Settings button at the drop-down menu.
  • Click on your Facebook information from the options on the left side of the page.
  • “Download Your Information” will be displayed. Click on it.
  • Choose the information you wish to download and create a file.

How to Deactivate your Facebook Account

Before you permanently delete your account, Facebook will give you the option of deactivating your account.  This is because if you deactivate your account, instead of deleting it, the following happens:

  • You can reactivate your account whenever you wish.
  • People can’t see your timeline or search for you.
  • Some information may remain visible to others like (messages you sent)
  • Your friends may still be able to see your name in their friends list. Note that this is only visible to your friends and only from their friends list.
  • Group admins may still see your posts and comments, along with your name.

Deactivate your Account

I will be showing you how to deactivate your account on both the new Facebook and on classic Facebook.

On New Facebook

  • Scroll to Facebook.com.
  • Sign into your account.
  • Hit on the arrow icon at the top right.
  • Choose Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  • Tap on your Facebook information on the left column.
  • Tap on Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Select Deactivate Account, then tap on Continue to Account Deactivation and go through with the instructions to confirm.

On Classic Facebook

  • Hit on the arrow icon at the top right of any Facebook page
  • Tap on Settings, then tap on Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  • Tap on Deactivation and Deletion
  • Select Deactivate Account, then tap on Continue to Account Deactivation and go through with the instructions to confirm.

Delete Facebook Account

When you delete Facebook account permanently the following happens:

  • You will not be able to regain access once your account has been deleted.
  • Facebook will delay deletion for a few days after it’s requested. Your deletion request will be cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time.
  • Some information, like messaging history, is not stored in your account. What this means is that friends may still have access to messages you sent after your account has been deleted.
  • Copies of some material like (log records) may remain in Facebook’s database but are disassociated from personal identifiers.
  • You will no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  • Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you have added will be permanently deleted and you won’t be able to retrieve anything you have added.
  • You can no longer use Facebook login for other apps you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, like Spotify or Pinterest. You may have to contact the apps and websites to have those accounts recovered.

Delete your account

Here are steps you can use to delete your account both on new Facebook and classic Facebook:

On New Facebook

  • Tap on the arrow icon at the top right of any Facebook page.
  • Tap on Settings, and click on Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  • Tap on Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Select Delete Account, and tap on Continue to Account Deletion.
  • Key in your password, and click on Continue and then click on Delete Account.

On Classic Facebook

  • Open and click on the arrow icon in the top right of any Facebook page.
  • Choose Settings & Privacy >Settings.
  • Tap Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  • Tap on Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Select Delete Account, and click on Continue to Account Deletion
  • Key in your password, and click on Continue and then click on Delete Account.

Make sure you really want to delete Facebook account before you click on that delete button. You have some options to consider before making that final decision. But if you are that it’s what you want, then go ahead and click on the delete button to have your account deleted.

You may also like

Leave a Comment