Facebook groups are platforms that are designed for people to share interests be it work-related projects, hobbies, geographical locations, or family events. A group may outlive its functions, thus necessitating the admin of the group to start thinking of Delete Facebook Group. When this happens, Face offers you different avenues of removing the group either by archiving or deletion.

Delete Facebook Group - Facebook Delete Group | Delete My Facebook Group

Delete Facebook Group

You can either permanently delete a group or have it archived. This will prevent new posts from being displayed and new members from joining the group. If you archive the group, you can restore it later, but if you delete the group, then you can’t get it back.

CHECK THIS OUT: Delete Facebook Account – Facebook Deactivate Account | Delete Facebook

Tips for Deleting a Facebook Group

Below are the tips for deleting a Facebook group:

  • To delete a Facebook group, the group owner must first remove every member of the group before leaving the group.
  • Group admins can only archive a Facebook group (unless the owner leaves), in order to block new members from joining, while group owners are able to delete Facebook groups.
  • Deleting a group is a permanent action that cannot be reversed later.

These are the basic tips needed to be known about deleting a Facebook group.

Delete Facebook Group Using a Browser

The procedures for deleting a Facebook group using a browser include:

  • Navigate to Facebook.com and scroll to ‘Groups’ on the home page.
  • Choose the group that you want to delete.
  • Scroll to ‘Members’ on the left-wing of the page.
  • Hit on the ‘More’ button close to each member’s name and choose “Remove from Group”, click on “Confirm”.
  • After all the members have been successfully removed, choose the “More” tab close to your name. Then choose “Leave Group” and then, “Leave and Delete”.

I guess the above steps will guide you towards deleting a Facebook group using a browser.

 Delete Facebook Group Using Mobile App

The below steps guide to delete a Facebook group using the mobile app:

  • Click to open the Facebook app on your iPhone or Android device. Then choose the “Menu” button and select “Groups”.
  • Choose “See All” close to “Your Groups”, and thereafter choose “See All” again beneath “Groups you Manage” in order to view all of your groups.
  • Tap open the group you wish to delete.
  • Click on the name of the group, and then click “See All” to see all of the members.
  • Click on each member’s name and choose “Remove Member” to remove them from the group.
  • After everyone has been deleted from the group, click on your name and choose “Leave Group”. Facebook will confirm that once you exit the group, the group will be deleted. Choose “Leave and Delete”.

If you are using your mobile device, these steps are required for deleting a Facebook group on your device.

CHECK THIS OUT: Delete Facebook Permanently – Delete Facebook Account | Delete Facebook

How to Archive a Facebook Group

Archiving a Facebook group means that the group would no longer appear in search results to non-members, and as well, no new members can join the group.

How to Archive a Group on New Facebook

The steps to archive a group on the new Facebook include:

  • Log into your account and scroll to your News Feed. Then, click on ‘Groups’ in the left menu and choose your group from ‘Groups You Manage’ or by searching it out.
  • Tap on the three-dot icon above the ‘About’ section.
  • Choose the ‘Archive’ group.
  • Tap ‘Confirm’.

Facebook notifies group members when a group is being archived. Once the group is archived, existing members can still see group content, but can’t post, comment or react.

How to Archive a Group on Classic Facebook

The steps include:

  • Log into your Facebook account, and scroll to your News Feed. Then click on Groups in the left menu, and choose your group.
  • Tap on the three-dot icon more below the cover photo.
  • Choose Archive Group
  • Then tap on Confirm.

Facebook notifies group members when a group is being archived. Once the group is archived, existing members can still see group content, but can’t post, comment or react.

Deleting a Facebook group does not have to take you all day because it’s actually very simple. AL you have to do is follow the guidelines offered above to do the needful.

CHECK THIS OUT: Delete Facebook Page – Facebook Page | Facebook Page Delete

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *