What I have to share with everyone is Delete Facebook Permanently. Let’s face it, apart from those who use their Facebook page is used in promoting their business(es), what do you actually gain from using your Facebook page? Now, this is one of the questions I have heard so many people ask and it got me thinking.
Apart from liking and commenting on people’s pictures and maybe making a post once in a while, so many people do not really benefit that much from Facebook, which is why they may consider the delete Facebook permanently option.
Now it may actually sound easier when say it than it is when you actually want to delete Facebook permanently. This is why I am here, I will be taking you through a step-by-step guide on how to permanently delete your Facebook account if you are tired of using one.
Delete Facebook Permanently
Now Facebook knowing that a time will come in your life when you need to make that decision has offered you two ways of staying off from the Facebook platform. One of the ways is staying off permanently, which is through deleting your account, while the other is staying away for a certain period of time which is by deactivating your account.
Differentiating Between Facebook Deactivation and Facebook Deletion
Before we go any further, let’s clearly understand what these two terms mean, as well as what you stand to gain or lose when you decide to use either of them.
Deactivating your Account
There are certain things you need to know if you want to deactivate your account. They include the following:
- Only you can see your profile.
- Information that you have sent, such as messages, will still remain visible on the platform.
- The Messenger app will still be functional on your device.
- Your name gets displayed on your friend’s list, but only for your friends.
- Things like your name, posts, and comments stay visible to the admins of groups you are on.
Facebook gives users access to deactivating your account for as long as they like, and they can log back into any time they want to.
How to Deactivate your Facebook Account
Deactivating your account may actually be the best option, as you can always log back in at any time you are certain you want to engage on the Facebook platform again. Here are some simple steps to guide you:
- Go to your Settings page, or click on the arrow icon at the top right of any Facebook page.
- On the left, a list of settings will be displayed. Click on Settings, then tap on Your Facebook
- Information in the left column.
- Tap on Deactivation and Deletion
- Select Deactivate Account, then tap on Continue to Account Deactivation and go through
- with the instructions to confirm.
With these steps, you can deactivate your Facebook account without stress.
Deleting your Facebook account permanently means you are saying goodbye to Facebook and all the apps you connected with using your Facebook sign in. Once your account is permanently deleted you will no longer have access to your account after the 90 days window period offered by Facebook to help you really consider what it is you want to do. Here is how it works:
- You lose access to reactivate your account.
- You stand to lose all the content you uploaded on Facebook except if you had downloaded them using the steps we will be showing you later.
- The Messenger app will no longer be active on your device.
- Apps you use with your Facebook login will no longer be active.
- Messages sent to friends would not be fully deleted, and these messages would remain visible to friends.
This is what happens when you delete your account from the platform.
Delete Facebook Permanently
To permanently delete your Facebook account:
- Proceed to your Settings page, or click on the arrow icon at the top right corner to access your settings from there.
- On the left, a list of Settings will be displayed. Tap on Your Facebook Information >Delete
- Your Account and Information.
- On the page that pops up, you will suggestions for deactivating your account or downloading your information. If you are not interested in any of these options, tap on Delete Account.
- Facebook will prompt you for your password. Enter your password and click on Continue.
It is as simple as that. If you change your mind, you can log in within the 90 days period and gain access to your account once again. Or create another account when you are ready.
Downloading Your Data From Facebook
If you want to retain your data you uploaded on Facebook while you exit the platform, here is a guide you can follow to download your data. The Facebook archive feature is a highly customizable feature. This means you can either download a single type of content, like your photos or choose a full back-up.
How to Download:
- Navigate to the Facebook website on Facebook.
Sign in to your account.
- On your homepage, scroll to and tap on the arrow icon at the top of the homepage.
- Hit on the Settings button at the drop-down menu.
- Go to your Settings page, and click on your Facebook information from the options on the left side of the page.
- You will be taken to the information archive page. Here, you will be prompted to “Download Your Information”. Click on it.
- Choose the information you wish to download and set a date range, archive format as well as media quality.
- Then click on the blue “Create a File” button. The archiving process will start.
- You check to see the progress using the “Available Files” button. If your file is still undergoing processing, the archive will display as pending, until it is ready for downloading.
If you are not sure you want to permanently delete your account, use the deactivate option instead. Be careful not to be carried away at the spur of the moment to do something you will later regret. If you really sure deleting your account is the best option, then go ahead and use the delete option instead.
You don’t actually have to be on Facebook if you don’t feel like it. There are other alternative social media platforms you can use instead, even though Facebook still remains unarguably the leading online social media platform with billions of users.